Exhibitions: London – May 2021

Barbican Art Gallery www.barbican.org.uk
Jean Dubuffet (17 May to 22 August 2021)
Claudia Andujar: The Yanomami Struggle (17 June to 29 August 2021)

Ben Uri Gallery & Museum www.benuri.org.uk
Now running as an online virtual museum including exhibitions.

Bethlem Museum of the Mind, Beckenham www.museumofthemind.org.uk
Online exhibitions only at present.

British Museum www.britishmuseum.org
Reflections: Contemporary Art of the Middle East and North Africa (17 May to 15 August 2021)
Thomas Becket: Murder and the Making of a Saint (20 May to 22 August 2021)
Nero: The Man behind the Myth (27 May to 24 October 2021)

The Cartoon Museum www.cartoonmuseum.org
 
Courtauld Gallery www.somersethouse.org/whats-on/courtauld-gallery
The Courtauld Gallery closed for redevelopment.    A Touring Programme is running with partner galleries.   See the website for further details

The Drawing Room https://drawingroom.org.uk
Online events only.

Design Museum www.designmuseum.org

Dulwich Picture Gallery www.dulwichpicturegallery.org.uk
Re-opens 19 May 2021
Unearthed: Photography’s Roots (19 May to 30 August 2021)
Helen Frankenthaler: Radical Beauty (15 Sep 2021 to 17 April 2022)
 
Estorick Collection www.estorickcollection.com
Re-opening 19 May 2021
Italian Threads: MITA Textile Design 1926-1976 (To 20 June 2021)

Foundling Museum www.foundlingmuseum.org.uk
The Covid Letters (To 13 June 2021)
 
Freud Museum www.freud.org.uk
1920/2020: Freud and Pandemic (19 May to 12 September 2021)

Guildhall Art Gallery www.cityoflondon.gov.uk
Noel Coward: Art & Style (Coming soon – see website for update).
 
Hayward Gallery, Southbank Centre www.southbankcentre.co.uk/venues/hayward-gallery
Opens 19 May: Wed-Sun.
Matthew Barney: Redoubt (19 May to 25 July 2021)

Heath Robinson Museum www.heathrobinsonmuseum.org
Currently closed: hopes to re-open 22 May 2021

Horniman Museum www.horniman.ac.uk
Re-opens 17 May 2021
 
The House of Illustration www.houseofillustration.org.uk
Touring exhibitions only.
Permanently closed. Re-opening 2022 as the Quentin Blake Centre for Illustration, Islington.

Imperial War Museum www.iwm.org.uk
Re-opens 19 May 2021
Ai Weiwei: History of Bombs
Refugees: Forced to Flee
Life in a Camp
A Face to Open Doors
Extended opening for all above.

London Transport Museum www.ltmuseum.co.uk
Re-opens 17 May 2021.
 
Leighton House Museum www.leightonhouse.co.uk
Currently closed.

National Army Museum www.nam.ac.uk/
Re-opens 19 May 2021.
 
National Gallery www.nationalgallery.org.uk
Re-opening 17 May 2021
Seeing the Unseen: Step into Gossaert’s Adoration (To 13 June 2021)
Conversations with God: Jan Matejko’s Copernicus (21 May to 22 August 2021)
Bellott: The Konigstein Views Reunited (22 July to 31 October 2021)
Poussin and the Dance (9 October 2021 to 2 January 2022)
The Credit Suisse Exhibition Durer’s Journeys: Travels of a Renaissance Artist (20 November 2021 to 27 February 2022)
Kehinde Wiley at the National Gallery (10 December 2021 to 18 April 2022)

National Portrait Gallery www.npg.org.uk
NPG currently closed till 2023 for a major refurbishment.  Arrangements are being made for collection items to be loaned to the National Gallery and the National Maritime Museum.
 
The Photographers’ Gallery www.thephotographersgallery.org.uk
See website for information.

Pitzhangar Manor House, Ealing www.pitzhangar.org.uk
Re-opening 27 May 2021
This is Ealing (27 May to 6 June 2021)
Soane Restored (27 May to 5 June 2021)
Julian Opie (25 June to 24 October 2021)

Queen’s Gallery www.royalcollections.org.uk
Re-opens 17 May 2021
Masterpieces from Buckingham Palace (17 May 2021 to 31 January 2022)

Royal  Academy www.royalacademy.org.uk
Tracey Emin/Edvard Munch The Loneliness of the Soul (18 May to 1 August 2021)
Michael Armitage: Paradise Edict (22 May to 19 September 2021)
David Hockney: The Arrival of Spring, Normandy, 2020 (23 May to 26 September 2021)
Summer Exhibition 2021 (22 September 2021 to 2 January 2022)
 
Royal Institute of British Architects www.architecture.com
Currently closed.

Serpentine Gallery www.serpentinegallery.org
Re-opens 19 May.
Jennifer Packer (19 May to 22 August 2021)
James Barnor: Accra/London: A Retrospective (19 May to 22 October 2021)
 
Sir John Soane’s Museum www.soane.org
Re-opens 19 May 2021
The Romance of Ruins: The Search for Ancient Ionia, 1764 (19 May to 5 September 2021)

South London Gallery www.southlondongallery.org
Re-opening 19 May 2021
Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2020 (19 May to 6 June 2021)
Art Assassins: An Archive by Other Means (19 May to 30 June 2021)
Independence to Now (19 May to 19 September 2021)
Ufuoma Essi: From Where We Land (18 June to 29 August 2021)
Christina Quarles: In Likeness (18 June to 29 August 2021)

Tate Britain www.tate.org.uk
Planning to re-open 17 May 2021.
Turner’s Modern World (To 12 September 2021)
Lynette Yiadom-Boakye: Fly in League With the Night (To 31 May 2021)
Hope. Struggle. Change: Photographing Britain and the World 1945 – 79 (Postponed)
 
Tate Modern www.tate.org.uk
Zanele Muholi (To 31 May 2021)
The EY Exhibition: The Making of Rodin (18 May to 21 November 2021)
Maria Bartuszova
New dates to be announced

Two Temple Place www.twotempleplace.org
See website for information.

Victoria and Albert Museum www.vam.ac.uk
Re-opens 19 May 2021
Bags: inside Out (19 May 2021 to 16 January 2022)
Alice: Curiouser & Curiouser (From 22 May 2021)
Epic Iran (From 29 May 2021)

The Wallace Collection www.wallacecollection.org
See website for opening information.
 
Whitechapel Gallery www.whitechapelgallery.org
Re-opens 19 May 2021
Eileen Agar: Angel of Anarchy (19 May to 29 August 2021)
A Glittering City: Ayo Akingbade with Duchamp & Sons (19 May to 15 August 2021)
Desde el Salon (From the Living Room)
Sol Calero selects from the Hiscock Collection (19 May to 15 August 2021)
Phantoms of Surrealism (19 May to 12 December 2021)

White Cube, Bermondsey www.whitecube.com
See website for opening information.

White Cube, Mason’s Yard www.whitecube.com
See website for opening information.

William Morris Gallery www.wmgallery.org.uk
See website for opening information.